Friday, June 03, 2016

The Indians Are World Champions!

The Cleveland Indians won their first Millennium League World Championship with a convincing four games to one victory over the San Francisco Giants.  A summary of the series:

SF 8, CLEV 6 - The Giants jumped out to a quick 6-0 lead and Max Scherzer pitched just good enough for the win.  Coco Crisp drove in 4 runs via a pair of singles.

CLEV 3, SF 1 - Ricky Nolasco (3-0, 2.63 ERA in the post season) was brilliant as he a fired a complete game 6-hitter while fanning 9.  Jay Bruce hit a 2-run shot for the Tribe.  Adam Wainwright, who was undefeated in this postseason prior to this game, took the loss.

CLEV 3, SF 0 - Jhoulys Chacin (3-0, 0.36 ERA) pitched 7+ innings of scoreless ball.  Pedro Alvarez, batting .349 this postseason, had a pair of hits, drove in a run and a scored a run.

CLEV 6, SF 5 (13) - The Giants' Scherzer had a one run lead going to the 9th, but Craig Kimbrel failed to notch the save as the Tribe scored a run in the 9th and then the game winner in the 13th.  The Indian bullpen tossed 8 innings of scoreless relief as Tim Stauffer got the win.  Justin Wilson took the loss as he threw a wild pitch in the 13th scoring Brian McCann.

CLEV 3, SF 2 (10) - Ben Revere drove in the winning run off loser Craig Kimbrel in the top of the 10th as the Cleveland Indians won their first championship.  The Tribe's only other World Series appearance was in the 2000 season as they lost in four games to the Arizona Diamondbacks.  Congratulations Mike Petersen and his team!

No comments: