Friday, September 21, 2007


For the second time in three years, the Arizona Diamondbacks have won the World Series!

Game 1: Boston 7-3
Boston opened up a close game late with 2 pinch hit homeruns and Glavine gave up just 1 er in 6 ip's. Schilling turns in another subpar playoff performance.

Game 2: Arizona 2-1
Randy Johnson got the cg victory. He went 8 scoreless before allowing a pair of doubles in the top of the 9th that knotted the game at 1-1. Arizona won it in the bottom of the 9th with a run scoring pinch ht single by Fick. Lowe pitched very well for Boston allowing just 1 hit in 6 ip's.

Game 3: Boston 2 - 0
Pedro Martinez pitches 7 scoreless innings, and then Timlin and Smoltz pitched 2 innings of relief to win it. Eric Young scored the winning run in the 7th as he pinch ran for Mike Sweeney, then stole second and came home on a Ken Griffey, Jr base hit.

Game 4: Arizona 4 - 0
Curt Schilling made up for his "subpar" performance in game 1 as he pitched 8 innings of 1 hit shutout baseball. He struck out 10 in the win.

Game 5: Arizona 9 - 5
Tom Glavine only lasted 2 innings giving up 5 runs on 3 homeruns by Diamondback hitters. Rafeal Furcal and Doug Mientkiewicz, batting 1 and 2, went 5 for 9 with 3 runs scored and 2 rbi's, to pace the Arizona attack.

Game 6: Arizona 4 - 3
Lowe pitched 6 great shutout innings for Boston but was lifted for a pinch hitter in the 7th. Yan came on in relief and proceeded to blow the 3-0 lead. Arizona's bullpen pitched 4 2/3 scoreless innings. Weber got the win and Shuey got the save.

No comments: