Thursday, February 09, 2017

Seattle Defeats Los Angeles in Six Games

Fourth seeded Seattle eliminated fifth seeded Los Angeles in a quarter-finals playoff series.  A recap of the games: 

GAME 1:  LA 5, SEA 1  - Matt Garza didn't allow a hit until the 8th inning as the Los Angeles Dodgers beat the Seattle Mariners 5-1.  Garza (1-0) gave up just 2 hits and 1 walk in 7+ innings.  The right-handed Garza lost a no-hitter when Albert Pujols doubled with one out in the 8th inning.   The loss was charged to Felix Hernandez (0-1).  He gave up 5 runs and 10 hits in 8+ innings.  Aramis Ramirez hit a two-run homer for LA. 

GAME 2:   SEA 5, LA 4 – Seattle’s Ryan Braun hit two homers including a solo shot in the bottom of the eighth which proved to be the game winner.  Darren O'Day got the win in relief and Francisco Rodriguez recorded another postseason save for the Mariners.

GAME 3:   LA 7, SEA 0 – Teams travel to LA for the next three games.  Andrew Cashner fired seven shutout innings as the Dodgers cruised 7-0.  Cashner fanned nine in his seven innings of work.  David Peralta hit a pinch-hit grand slam homerun off Sergio Romo in the bottom of the seventh to break the game wide open. 

GAME 4:  SEA 1, LA 0 – King Felix fired a dominating one-hitter while fanning 12 as the Mariners evened the series.  The lone run was scored in top of the sixth as Albert Pujols knocked in Jose Reyes for the game winner. 

GAME 5:  SEA 4, LA 2 – Jeff Samardzija outdueled Matt Garza as the Mariners pushed the Dodgers to the brink of elimination with a 4-2 win.  Francisco Rodriguez, who gave up an unearned run in the bottom of the ninth as LA tried to mount a comeback, got his second save of the series. 

GAME 6:  SEA 7, LA 6 (12) – Jose Reyes hit a walk off double in the bottom of the twelveth  scoring Peter Bourjos as Seattle eliminated Los Angeles.  The Dodgers had tied the game up at 6-6 in the 8th as they scored two runs off Romo.  Both teams used eight pitchers in the game.  The Mariners, who were eliminated in last season’s semi-finals to the eventual champs Indians, will now face the winner of the Toronto-St. Louis playoff series.


No comments: